The Songbook: What I Like About You

Posted: May 6, 2013 in The Songbook

Song #2 in The Songbook is What I Like About You, a song from 1980 by the band The Romantics:

This has all the hallmarks of a hit.  It’s catchy, it’s easy to sing along with, and it’s easy to play – three chords are all you have to know (the song is written in F, but for those of use who don’t like to use barre chords, you can just repeat E-A-D-A over and over and over).  The lyrics aren’t terribly deep – it’s a guy talking about what he likes about a girl.  The brilliance of the song comes in its energy, which is really quite contagious.

I hadn’t thought about this song in a while until my work instituted a What I Like About You wall – people were encourage to write something positive about someone and stick it up on the wall.  They even got me to track down the song so they could play it over the PA when announcing it.  So, it came back into my consciousness, and for the last week, I’ve been using it as a songwriting activity.  Specifically, we’ve been rewriting the lyrics to What I Like About Spring (the weather is finally getting warmer here in Northwest Indiana, and the flowers are starting to pop out all over).  Here’s a sample of what the clients have come up with –

What I like about spring, the grass is green
The flowers are blooming, the birds are all chirping

What I like about spring, the birds and the bees
Butterflies everywhere, in the flowers and the trees

What I like about spring, you get to be outside
Looking at the flowers, the lilies and the dandelions

What I like about spring, you get to go to the pool
Easter’s here, and you get spring break from school

And I’ve been using the same chorus with everyone:

Keeps getting warmer everyday, summer’s not too far away
So I’ll sing, that’s what I like about spring

I’ve been recording the verses on GarageBand into one giant song, and this coming week, I’m hoping to get the clients to add in some instrumentation – drum beats, keyboard effects, etc.  The creative process has been good so far – the clients have enjoyed getting involved in the creation with others they aren’t in session with.  It’s creating a kind of community without even being around each other.

That’s it for today.  Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

