A Day in the Life: December 20, 2011

Posted: December 20, 2011 in Music Therapy

I was going to do a post on how Jingle Bell Rock/Holly Jolly Christmas/Rockin’ Around the Christmas Tree were banned in my house growing up, and yet a medley of the three have mysteriously crept into my holiday repertoire.  Instead, after a fairly eventful day, I thought I’d post about some of the good and the bad of the day.

  • My first clients of the day are roomies, and I see them back to back.  Today, they were both falling asleep on me.  I think they need to go to bed sooner on Monday nights.  Overall, these weren’t the most interesting sessions of the day, but in the interest of completeness, there it is.
  • Next was A.  I see her at her day program in a conference room.  One of the things we’ve been working on is on-task behaviors – when I first started with her, she was constantly bouncing off the walls and grabbing instruments out of my hands.  She has gotten much better, but today…wow.  It hasn’t been that bad in months.  Maybe it was too much holiday spirit.
  • Christmas caroling!  Our adults have been hard at work practicing, and this was actually our third caroling stop.  Number one was a nursing home last week, and number two was caroling around the office last Friday.  Today we were back to the same nursing home we’ve been to several times this year.  I got there a few minutes before 1:30 (show time), and took my stuff inside.  1:30 came, and they weren’t there.  I called the office, and the receptionist came back with the answer that caroling was at 1:30 at the location I currently was at.  She said to call back if they weren’t there in a few minutes.  1:36.  I called back, and the receptionist came back with the news that they were leaving right then.  Now our office is right around the corner – a five minute walk (if that), a one minute drive.  1:50.  There they are.  Meanwhile, we have a lobby full of residents in wheelchairs just waiting.  I didn’t want to start without our consumers, but that was really awkward.  The caroling went fine, everyone did well, but I was upset and don’t think I was at my best.  Very frustrating.
  • Later in the afternoon, I had D.  I haven’t posted about D in a while, so to recap – in our very first session, he started screaming and biting himself during the Hello Song, and I questioned whether or not music therapy was appropriate.  Today, he was strummed the guitar and was having a good time with some new instruments I got for my birthday.  He was playing one (shown at the left), and started rolling it between his hands.  This was the most active playing from him I’ve ever seen – he usually looks more like he’s stimming off the instrument.  I made the mistake of complimenting him, and he looked horrified, immediately putting the instrument down.  Oh well.  That’s on me.
  • My last client was S.  S has some anxiety problems which I’ve seen occasionally, but never like tonight.  When I’ve seen his stress in the past, it’s mostly been in the form of him talking faster, fidgeting a lot, and not making much sense.  Today, he was actually weeping.  I didn’t get much out of him, except that he was having trouble at work.  We’ve been working on coping skills, so we mostly worked on some quick things for him to do while at work – hum to himself, take deep breaths, listen to his headset.  In talking with his parents later, I found out that his medication has been changed recently, which probably has something to do with it, but not everything.  His parents know what we were working on, and they’re going to work on it with him.  I had just recently completed his treatment plan, and it’s going to include a much more intensive coping skills practice regiment, so I hope that’s going to help.

Overall, very interesting day.  I really didn’t want this much excitement so close to Christmas – oh well.  Thanks for reading!

-Jesse

Comments
  1. Peggy Hickle says:

    Ah, but you can pretty much count on too much excitement this close to Christmas. This from a person who has hung around children for many years–between Thanksgiving and Christmas, every thing and everybody is a little off the wall!

  2. Dad says:

    Banished? Was it that bad? Well, Wayne Newton and Burl Ives… what can I say?

Leave a Reply

