Little Drummer Boy

Posted: December 7, 2011 in Music Therapy

I don’t use a lot of religious songs in music therapy sessions at this time of year.  I do if the client asks for them, or if I know they’re a religious family.  However, generally, I keep them separate from your 12 Days and your Rudolphs and your decking of halls.

However, one that I do throw in every now and then is Little Drummer Boy.  This is a religious song about the birth of Jesus, but it’s not a story found in the Bible, nor is Jesus named in the song.  Instead, it’s about a poor boy who wants to give something and then gives the best that he can, the gift of music.  And I think it’s a really good message, one that I like sharing with people.  Not so much the Christian aspect as the thought of being able to share musically with others.  Plus, the “pa rum pum pum pum” motif is a fun one to repeat and addresses some good enunciation skills, particularly the letters P, R, and M.

So that’s my little Christmas tidbit for the day.  Thanks for reading!

Comments
  1. Dad says:

    We do an anthem with a Pat a pat a pan, in it; another with ho di oh, oh, oh; and still another with fum, fum, fum. Your auntie Diana and I spent many a moment in hilarity over that last one!

  2. Dad says:

    And of course there’s always
    “The boar’s head as I understand
    is the fairest dish in all the land.”

Leave a Reply

