The Twelve Days of Christmas

Posted: November 30, 2011 in Music Therapy

Tis the season once again, and I’m all in on the Christmas music.  I fought it until Thanksgiving, but I’m in full Christmas mode now.  And today I want to talk about The Twelve Days of Christmas.

Now, if you really think about it, the song is completely ridiculous.  Most of all because while people would love to be getting presents for twelve days straight, not many of the presents have any kind of value.  I mean, between the partridge, turtle doves, French hens, calling birds, geese, and swans, you have a grand total of 23 birds.  Not to mention that the geese are laying, which means some goslings are on the way.  Eight maids a-milking means that you now have at least eight cows, probably more.  I don’t have enough room for all of that to begin with, and throw in the lords, ladies, pipers, and drummers, and I’ll probably get a citation for noise violations.  About the only thing that would make an appropriate gift these days are the five golden rings.

So, it’s past time to update the lyrics.  And that’s a project I’m doing with several of my clients – coming up with new lyrics customized for the individuals.  For some of them, we’ll knock it out in one session – I have a couple of adolescents that will be very good at it.  Others, I’ll be spreading it over a few sessions.  One client in particular would be overwhelmed to do twelve verses in one day, so we’ll do a few at a time.  I’d like to use the activity to produce a product, maybe as a present for the families.  Our adult groups will be caroling in a couple of weeks, and I’d like to use their version instead of the traditional song.

I may post some results in a future post.  Until then, enjoy the season.  Thanks for reading!

-Jesse

Leave a Reply

