Changing the environment

Posted: November 16, 2011 in Music Therapy

I have a young lady I see on Tuesdays.  She attends a day program, and that’s where we do our sessions.  They’ve reserved a conference room for me in the front office, and it works pretty well.  There’s a conference table that I would move to the side to give us room.  However, a problem that I’ve been having with her is that she’ll jump out of her chair and run around the room.  I noticed that she was always heading for the window, so I started positioning the table in the center of the room.  The table is just long enough, and the room is just narrow enough, that the table almost covers the entire width of the room.  Soon after I started this, the getting out of her chair behaviors almost entirely stopped.  She would still stand occasionally, mostly to head towards the door, but since I set up right there, no problem.  During yesterday’s session, she did not stand at all throughout the entire session.

Sometimes, something as simple as changing the environment can eliminate a lot of problems.  I posted a couple of weeks ago that I was switching offices.  That’s done now, and I’m sharing a big office with a bunch of other people, including our new MT.  This has provided a whole new set of distractions – chatting, phone calls, and the noise from the ABA clinic next door.  However, the change in environment is actually helping me to be more focused on what I need to be doing.  Having a new space, having different resources, having people around have all helped me to be more organized and diligent.  It’s interesting how difficult it can be to apply the lessons we’re trying to teach our clients to our own life.  But there it is.  Thanks for reading!

-Jesse

Leave a Reply

