Toy Boat, Toy Boat, Toy Boit…no wait…

Posted: September 6, 2011 in Techniques

I’m working on collecting some tongue twisters to help some of my clients focus on articulation.  My basic idea is to do some kind of rhythmic call-and-response thing, and see how it works.  Here’s some of the ones I’ve got so far (have fun!):

  • A big black bug bit a big black bear.
  • A canner can can all the things that he can, but a canner can’t can a can, can he?
  • Chop shops stock chops.
  • Girl gargoyle, guy gargoyle.
  • Greek grapes.
  • He threw three free throws.
  • Jingle jangle jungle joker.
  • Octopi occupy a porcupine’s mind.
  • One-one was a racehorse, Two-two was one too.  One-one won one race, Two-two won one too.
  • Peter Piper picked a peck of pickled peppers.
  • Proper copper coffee pot.
  • Rubber baby buggy bumpers.
  • She sells seashells by the seashore.
  • Swim, swan, swim!
  • Toy boat.
  • Unique New York.
  • We’ll weather the weather whatever the weather, whether we like it or not.
  • Yoda met a Yeti on the Plains of Serengeti.

The concept I’m working off here is that the act of practicing will help with pronouncing different parts of the words.  This is something I’ll have to practice, and something they’ll have to practice as well.  We’ll see how it works – I have several people I want to try it with, of varying levels of functioning.  I’ll be sure to report back with some results once I get them.  I do know of a song by Jim Gill that, lyrically, is just “Toy boat toy boat toy boat toy boat…”, and I’ll most likely be using that.

Thanks for reading!

-Jolly Jesse, who jumped joyfully over giant jumbled jaguars

Leave a Reply

