Music Games

Posted: May 17, 2011 in Music Therapy

I’ve been trying to come up with some musical games to use with some of my higher functioning client groups.  Here are a few of my projects:

  • Singo – I worked on this concept a bit during my internship, and have recently resurrected it.  Basically, it’s just Bingo with songs.  Each space on the Singo board has a picture that represents a different song (except for the center space, which is FREE).  The songs I’ve used are typically kids songs that everyone knows – Mary Had a Little Lamb, Jingle Bells, Old MacDonald, etc.  Then, I recorded a snippet for each one with me playing the melody on piano.  Players have to hear the song, identify it, and match it to the picture on the board.  The goals of the experience are to increase listening skills, attention to task, matching, and to provide an environment for some healthy competition.
  • Musical Charades – This is one I’ve been working on a bit recently.  The idea is that one person draws a card that shows the name of a song.  They also draw a card that shows a rhythm instrument.  Their task is to play the rhythm of that song on that instrument.  If someone guesses it, both the guesser and the player score three points.  If no one gets it, the player then can try to act out the song title.  If someone guesses it, the guesser and player both score one point.  Whoever has the most points after a certain number of rounds wins.  I haven’t tried it out yet, though I plan to tomorrow.  We’ll see how it goes.
  • Musical Chairs – I don’t really like this game.  It’s like dodge ball in that it’s too easy for people to get hurt.  I’m thinking about some possible variations for my next social skills group.
Still thinking…

Leave a Reply

