More Top Songs

Posted: May 10, 2011 in Music Therapy

Following up on my Top Songs post from a few weeks ago, there are a few that I can’t believe I omitted:

  1. Don’t Worry, Be Happy – This Bobby McFerrin song takes a lot of flak.  I looked it up – it reached #9 on VH1’s Top 50 Most Awesomely Bad Songs Ever list (behind such classics as She Bangs, Party All the Time, Breakfast At Tiffany’s, Ice Ice Baby, Rollin’, Everybody Have Fun Tonight, Achy Breaky Heart, and We Built This City).  However, I love it.  I can’t exactly do McFerrin’s a capella, but it works well on the guitar.  People enjoy it, and it’s got a good repeatable chorus that everyone can join in on.  Also, it’s a good song for songwriting, plugging in new lyrics about things that make people worry.
  2. You’ve Got a Friend – A great song about always having someone there when you need them.  The lyrics make this song, but the melody is also pretty wonderful.
  3. We Will Rock You – I’ve been using this one a lot recently.  It makes a good framework for getting people to play a particular rhythmic pattern on the drum.  Almost everyone knows it, so adding lyrics helps everyone keep focused on what they should be doing.  It was weird learning the lyrics…I had never really thought about them before, only focusing on the WE WILL WE WILL ROCK YOU part.
  4. Help! – This Beatles song is all about on relying on other people.  It’s a great lesson in a great song.
  5. Somewhere over the Rainbow – This song is a timeless classic that I’ve been using in a number of situations.  I don’t usually play it in strict imitation of the movie version, but I tend to sing it in slow acoustic style of Eva Cassidy, or on ukulele in the style of Israel Kamakawiwo’ole (though fixing the lyrics).
  6. My Girl – Who doesn’t like My Girl?  The verses don’t change much, and it’s such a sweet song that everyone can sing along.
  7. Sunshine on my Shoulders – This is an incredibly peaceful song that’s all about being happy and wanting to share your happiness.  It usually leads to a discussion of what makes us happy.

In a few weeks, I’ll probably look back at this list and say, “OH YEAH!”  So expect another one some day.  Until then, thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

