More space

Posted: February 4, 2011 in Music Therapy

So, I come back from the forced snow days to find my office completely devoid of instruments.

The first thing to run through my head was that the adults went a little overboard in getting stuff for music today.  They have music groups on Monday, Wednesday, and Friday mornings.  I only do the group with them on Mondays, so I usually leave out some instruments and a CD or two for them to use.  However, since we’ve been snowed out, I obviously couldn’t do that last night.  So I was expecting them to have gone into my office and taken a few things.  But not that much.

I then noticed my guitar and keyboard were gone, which was doubly odd since no one in the adult groups use that stuff.  And then I remembered – I’m getting moved into a new office!

Ever since I started working here, I’ve been in what can only be described as a closet.  A 9X9 room that contained my desk, a filing cabinet, three chairs, and all of the music instruments.  Not much room left for myself, much less my clients.  Group sessions were being held in a conference room across the hall.

As of today, that conference room across the hall is now my office.  All of my instruments, desk, and filing cabinet only take up one wall in the room, leaving a ton of space for groups and individual sessions.  Best of all, I now have a window which is currently partially blocked by a big snow drift.  However, I have natural light and I no longer have to have those wretched fluorescent overhead lights on all the time.  Huzzah.

I’m very excited about the transition.  It will be great to not have to cart my stuff across the hall whenever it’s time for groups, then back for a client, then back for another group, then back for another client.  I’m making a commitment to keep the room better organized than the closet was…I’m a bit of a clutterer, and that made it doubly difficult to move around in there.  Now that I have more room, it will be easier to put things up, which will in turn create more space.  And more space is a good, good thing.

Thanks for reading!

-Jesse

Comments
  1. Peggy Hickle says:

    Sounds like your employer is taking your work seriously. Good job!

Leave a Reply

