Story time

Posted: January 26, 2011 in Techniques

One thing I wanted to do with my new social skills group was a story time, where I tell a story and there are instruments for certain parts.  So I wrote a story, which was kind of inspired by the Jack tales I heard growing up.  The main character was Jack, played by the Limberjack I got for Christmas, and the various animals he met were represented by other instruments.  With a group of 10 people, I had to insert a couple of extra elements (rain for example).  The story ended up being too long, and some of the kids didn’t have enough to do, but I thought I’d post it here.  It would probably work better with a smaller group.

JACK AND THE BEAR

Cast:

  • Jack – Limberjack
  • Bear – Drum
  • Duck – Quackers (plastic instruments that make quacking sounds when you shake them)
  • Horse – Tone Block
  • Cow – Bells
  • Sheep – Glockenspiel
  • Rain – Rain Stick
  • Frog – Frog Rasp
  • Roar – Rattle
  • Lion – Ocean Drum

 

This is a story about JACK and how he met a BEAR.

One day JACK was walking down the road.  He was thinking to himself “Boy!  I really hope I meet a BEAR today!”  JACK had never seen a BEAR before, and he didn’t know what he was wishing for.

All of a sudden, he heard a splashing sound.  He walked over to a pond and there was a yellow bird swimming around.  He had never seen anything like it before, so he asked, “Are you a BEAR?”

“Don’t be silly!” said the bird.  “Do I look like a BEAR to you?”

“I don’t know,” said JACK.  “I’ve never seen one before.”

“Well, I’m a DUCK!” said the DUCK.  “I have feathers and I swim!”

“Oh,” said JACK.  “I’m sorry.”

“That’s OK!” said the DUCK.  “I’ve never seen a BEAR either.  Can I join you?”

“Sure!” said JACK, and the two of them continued walking down the road.

Pretty soon, they came to a big red barn.  And inside that barn, they found a three animals.  One was brown and had long legs.  Another was white and black and was chewing on some grass.  Another was smaller, white and fluffy.

“Are any of you BEARS?” asked JACK.

The long-legged animal laughed.  “Do we look like BEARS?” he asked.

“I don’t know,” said JACK.  “I’ve never seen one before.”

“Well, I’m a HORSE,” said the long-legged animal.  “I run fast and help with farm work.”

“And I’m a COW,” said the grass chewer.  “I give milk to feed everyone.”

“And I’m a SHEEP,” said the fluffy creature.  “My wool keeps everyone warm.”

“Are YOU a BEAR?” asked the COW.  “We’ve never seen one either.”

“No,” said JACK.  “I’m JACK.  And this is a DUCK.”

“Hello,” said the DUCK.

“Do you want to come with us to meet the BEAR?” asked JACK.

The HORSE, COW, and SHEEP nodded.  “We’d love to!” they said.  So JACK, the DUCK, the HORSE, the COW, and the SHEEP continued walking down the road.

Before long, it started to RAIN.  And in the RAIN, they met a small green creature.

“Are you a BEAR?” asked Jack.

“Do I look like a BEAR?” asked the small green creature.

“I don’t know,” said JACK.  “I’ve never seen one before.”

“Well, I’m a FROG,” said the FROG.  “I live in a swamp and hop a lot.”

“We’re going to go see a BEAR,” said JACK.  “Would you like to come with us?”

“OK,” said the FROG.  So JACK, the DUCK, the HORSE, the COW, the SHEEP, and the FROG all continued down the road in the RAIN.

Pretty soon, they came across a big furry animal with lots of sharp teeth.

“Excuse me,” said JACK.  “We’re looking for a BEAR.”

The animal looked at him.  “What does a BEAR look like?”

“I don’t know,” said JACK.  “I’ve never seen one before.  But I know that they don’t swim like a DUCK, they don’t help with farm work like a HORSE, they don’t give milk like a COW, they don’t give wool like a SHEEP, and they don’t hop around like a FROG.”

“That’s right,” said the animal.  “They’re big, furry, and have lots of sharp teeth.”

“Like you?” asked the FROG.

“Like me,” said the BEAR, and then it ROARED!

The new friends were so scared that they took off running, not even caring that it was still RAINING.  The FROG hopped back to its swamp.  The HORSE, COW, and SHEEP ran back to their barn.  The DUCK flew back to its pond.  And JACK ran all the way home and hid beneath the covers.  He could still hear the BEAR ROARING outside.

The next morning when JACK got up, the sun was shining.  He set out walking down the road, thinking to himself, “Boy!  I hope I meet a LION today!”

THE END

Leave a Reply

