New Group

Posted: January 25, 2011 in Music Therapy

This evening, I’m starting a new group.  It’s a social skills group for kids age 5-9.  I’m kind of excited about it, but I’m also pretty nervous.  I don’t know ANY of the kids in the group.  I might have met some of them last summer when my predecessor was running a music social skills group, but I don’t know.  As with any new situation, I just have to be ready and confident in my plan.  And I think I have a pretty good plan.  I have the advantage of doing something cool.  Music is something most kids really enjoy being a part of.

I have a co-leader for this group, a behavior therapist who will be helping me out with billing, planning, and keeping things running smoothly.  She’s not a music person and I think she’s a little apprehensive about the possibility of having to sing.  We’ll see how it goes.  This is my first real collaboration since working here, and I think it will be fun.

Things I need to keep in mind:

  1. Transitions.  I need to make sure there’s not a lot of downtime because that’s when problems happen.
  2. Know my plan backwards and forwards.  Not only will this help with transitions, but it will help my own confidence.
  3. Have fun.  It’s kids, it’s music, what could be more fun?

I’ll post on the same topic in a few weeks down the road to let you know how the group is going.  We’ll be meeting for the next 10 weeks, and hopefully I’ll have some success to report.  Thanks for reading!

Comments
  1. Roia says:

    Re: “She’s not a music person and I think she’s a little apprehensive about the possibility of having to sing.” :- ) And people keep saying how “non-threatening” music therapy is.

    Good luck with your new group!

Leave a Reply

