Falalalala

Posted: December 15, 2010 in General Music

I’ve been learning a lot about the nature of Christmas caroling in the last few weeks.  Our adults are going out into the community to carol next Tuesday, so we’ve been rehearsing since Thanksgiving.  And they’re doing pretty well.  They are gaining confidence, singing out, playing instruments, and most importantly, having a good time.  Part of that is that I’ve been trying to get them to make it their own.  It’s one thing to just stand around singing songs everyone has heard a million times, it’s another to inject your own personality.

I’m very grateful to the staff who has been leading the groups during their music time when I’m not there.  Since I’ve cut down to seeing them only once a week, they’re usually on their own Wednesdays and Fridays (except for today, which was a make up after we got snowed out on Monday).  The staff has come up with choreography to a couple of the songs, Nuttin for Christmas and We Wish You a Merry Christmas.  And I have to tell you, NFC is an absolute hoot to watch now.  It’s a funny song to begin with, but with the adults all stomping around, acting mad, wagging their fingers, and acting out some of the atrocities committed by the singer, it’s absolutely hilarious.  I have to play guitar and sing throughout, and it’s all I can do to not burst out laughing.

On Monday, we’re going to be singing around the office, and on Tuesday, we’re heading out to a nursing home.  I am actually very excited.  I think our consumers are going to have a great time, and I think the people who get caroled to will be very encouraged.  And I think that’s the essence of what we’re trying to accomplish here – providing a positive experience for both the singers AND the listeners.

Thanks for reading!

-Jesse

Comments
  1. Peggy Hickle says:

    Wow! NFC, huh? Wish you could bring your group to carol here!

  2. Dad says:

    Report! Don’t think I heard how that went?!

Leave a Reply

