Thanksgiving

Posted: November 24, 2010 in Music Therapy

It’s almost Thanksgiving!  And you know what that means!  The Christmas buzz is about to go from a deafening roar to an ear-splitting cacophony!

I really like Thanksgiving, but it seems like it’s getting more and more lost in the shuffle every year.  Thanksgiving has devolved into merely a day where you don’t have to go to work so you can go the mall.  I hate it, and I absolutely refuse to celebrate Christmas until Thanksgiving is past.  No decorating, no shopping (unless my local Barnes & Noble is having a clearance sale, which it IS), and definitely no Christmas music.

My units on Native American music for the adults have been going well.  People are enjoying getting some context for our drumming experiences, and we’ve been able to play a few musical games based on tribal games.  Starting next week, we’ll be practicing our singing for when we go out into the community and carol for a local nursing home.

I haven’t got much to say today.  Thanks so much for reading, and I really hope you have a great Thanksgiving (if you’re in a part of the world that celebrates it that is – if not, have a great Thanksgiving anyway).

Comments
  1. JoelK says:

    Oh man, I’m with you on the holding-off-with-Christmas thing. In Canada our T-Giving is in October, but Christmas build-up infringes on Remembrance Day (Nov. 11). Seems like it’s earlier every year (I have friends who decorate their tree while handing out candy on Halloween) and it’s so clearly tied into the strategy of the shopping malls that I refuse to be a part of it.
    I wait till after the first Sunday of advent. If I start doing Christmas songs too early, I’ll be a complete basketcase by Christmas Eve, and I’ll have to check myself into one of the facilities I work in.

Leave a Reply

