Halloween

Posted: October 13, 2010 in Related Issues

For the last couple of years, I’ve been in grad school and have forgotten what a big deal Halloween is.   Two years ago, Halloween fell on a Friday, so lots of people at school dressed up.  Last year, it was on a Saturday, and I was kind of surprised that no one dressed up – I’ve always worked in places where Halloween is always celebrated, even if it falls outside the normal work week.

Now I’m back in the working world, and we’re back to having the entire month of October being a lead-up to Halloween.  Decorations are up, people are talking about costumes, and we’re all anticipating (dreading?) the inevitable sugar rush and the even more inevitable sugar crash on November 1, a Monday.

So I’m starting to think of Halloweeny activities.  I have one oral motor exercise I used to do where we play a CD of the Ghostbusters theme and blow tissues around.  This activity evokes a fond memory of a little kid with Down syndrome who would always grab his head and say “OW!” when I would start the song.  At first, I didn’t know why, but then I heard Ray Parker Jr. say “OW!” and the reasoning became clear.

Of course, there are a bunch of Halloween songs that are suitable for dancing – Thriller, The Monster Mash, Dead Man’s Party, and so on.  Maybe I should learn the dance for Thriller and teach it to my adult groups.

So, this is what I’ve been thinking about recently.  Thanks for reading!

-Jesse

Leave a Reply

