The despair of technology

Posted: September 13, 2010 in Uncategorized

Time to gripe!  Two weeks ago, I did an assessment using the IMTAP.  It was my first assessment with an adult client, and though the tool is designed for use with children, it still helped in figuring out what needed work.  As recommended, I filmed the assessment session so I could watch it later and take notes.  That would leave me free to work with the client rather than taking notes.  I did this with my previous assessment, and it worked fine.  Basically, I film it, the front office burns it onto a DVD, I watch and take notes.

But what happens if the camera decides to eat all of the videos currently in its memory?

As far as I can tell, it’s no one’s fault.  The camera (the new one, by the way) just decided it didn’t want to give up my assessment or all the filmed research sessions for the ABA clinic.  The company is shipping it off to the manufacturer so they can hopefully recover the recordings.  In the meantime, I’ve got nothing.  I didn’t take notes, I was waiting to watch the video.  Now I’m relying on my two week old memory to do the assessment.  That’s partly my problem for not trying to write something at the first hint of trouble.

Fortunately for me, the client is a high-functioning adult that is able to verbalize what he wants to work on.  So we talked about the problem today and worked out some appropriate goals.  But I won’t be making a video again without making a back-up audio recording as well.  And what happens if both pieces of equipment fail at once?

Whenever I find myself thinking, “How did anyone ever get by without technology?”, I usually find myself answering, “Just fine, thanks.”  Wouldn’t it be better if we just went back to the stone age?  Nothing to worry about but the occasional sabre tooth tiger.  And finding a cave to hole up in for the winter.  And perhaps not getting trampled by a mammoth.

Maybe not.

Am I a hypocrite for condemning technology on my blog?  Probably.  I’m just grumpy.  I’ve got another assessment later, and I won’t be filming it.  Hopefully it will go OK.

Thanks for reading!

-Jesse

Leave a Reply

