Phoning it in

Posted: September 7, 2010 in Related Issues

I’m terrified of the telephone.  I don’t know what it is.  I just hate picking it up, dialing those seven to ten digits, and then having to actually talk to someone.  Part of it is my introversion – I’m not very good with people I don’t know.  Part of it is insecurity – I’m always afraid I’ll make a fool of myself when I open my mouth.  Part of it is that I’d just rather talk to someone face to face – I feel that I can express myself better in person, and I can also read their reactions better.  Part of it is that I’m scared someone will pick up when I’m expecting to speak to a machine – I feel like I always end up stumbling all over myself in those cases.

I’m so glad to be living in the era of e-mail.  It gives me an alternative form of contact where I can at least form my thoughts coherently without having to think on the fly or memorize some script.  But there’s many times where I have to make that phone call.

It’s weird that I don’t have stage fright.  I’m perfectly comfortable getting up in front of huge groups of people and speaking or performing.  I don’t understand why that little electronic device can scare me so much.

This makes things difficult in building my caseload.  I have to overcome this irrational fear to contact someone for the first time.  I have to think about what I’m going to say.  Then, I dial the number.  Then, and this is the hard part, I hit “send.”  And then I pray that I get a machine.

Sometimes, I wish I had taken a business class in college.  Just some introductory thing where we could talk about strategies for contacting people, things I could say, tips for building up a business.  It would have been nice.  I’ve thought that it maybe should have been a part of the required curriculum, but what would I drop?  Biology, probably – that was completely useless for what I’m doing.  World history, perhaps.  I placed out of math, so I didn’t have to do that, which was nice.  But those core courses would be difficult to jettison.  And I really don’t know what else I could’ve done.

Ah well.  Just a few ramblings for today.  Thanks for reading!

-Jesse

Leave a Reply

