Lyric Analysis

Posted: August 9, 2010 in Techniques

Today, with my higher functioning adult group in day services, we did a lyric analysis activity. I haven’t gotten a chance to do one of these in a long time, and I was excited to be able to give it a shot. I chose Hey Jude – a nice simple well-known song about accepting yourself enough to accept others in your life. I have to say…it was one of the best experiences I’ve had. There were only two consumers in the group, and we had a nice discussion about making friends, how to treat people, and about self-esteem. I let everybody keep their lyric sheets to look over and think about whenever they needed to. One consumer thanked me afterwards, saying it was going to be really helpful for her. That makes me feel good…just to know that the experience was meaningful for her made it all the more rewarding for me.

Just thought I’d share. Thanks for reading!

-Jesse

Comments
  1. Roia says:

    Congratulations on the new job, Jesse! I completely understand about needing the structure of a facility within which to work (although I wonder if I don’t rely on that a bit too much). And hooray for sessions that go well- they truly are the days that help us remember why we do this for a living.

Leave a Reply

